## VIDYA BHAWAN BALIKA VIDYPITH SHAKTI UTTHAN ASHARAM LAKHISARAI

Class IXth. Subject Political science. Date 18.1.2021.

Ch: ELECTORAL POLITICS (NOTES)

## What is Our System of Election?

Elections are held in India in Lok Sabha and Vidhan Sabha (Assembly) regularly after every 5 years. After 5 years, the term of all the elected representatives comes to an end.

Elections held in all constituencies at the same time, either on the same day or within a few days is called a **General Election**. Sometimes elections are held only for one constituency to fill the vacancy caused by the death or resignation of a member. This is called a **By-Election**.

## **Electoral Constituency**

India is divided into different areas for the purpose of elections. These areas are called **electoral constituencies**. The voters living in an area elect one representative.

- ByFor Lok Sabha elections, India is divided into 543 constituencies.
  The representative elected from each constituency is called a Member of Parliament or an MP.
- Each state is divided into a specific number of Assembly constituencies. In this case, the elected representative is called the Member of Legislative Assembly or an MLA. Each Parliamentary constituency has within it several assembly constituencies.

The same principle applies for Panchayat and Municipal elections. Each village or town is divided into several 'wards' that are like constituencies. Each ward elects one member of the village or the urban local body. Sometimes these constituencies are counted as 'seats', for each constituency represents one seat in the assembly.

SUBJECT TEACHER'S MUKESH KUMAR